Title chase is hotting up

Share this article

THE action hotted up in B Division of the Darley Dale & District Snooker League this week with just one point now separating runaway pair Matlock Golf Club and Jaxx Q Club No 1 of Belper after each gained impressive victories.

The Golf Club defeated PJ’z No 2 of Ripley 4-1 with Graham Jones scoring a century haul of points and Chris Parker notching breaks of 36 and 20 after Gary Day had put the visitors ahead.

Their closest rivals went one better, however, by defeating neighbours Belper Strutt Club No 2 5-0. Wade Morley made an impressive debut by top scoring while Steve Robinson contributed a useful 27 break.

The section’s other match saw a second successive victory for the number two team from Jaxx Q Club who edged out Bolehill Institute No. 3 3-2. Andy Hayes and John Williams were the main architects, winning both their singles and doubles frames.

The gap narrowed between the second and third placed teams in A Division as Edgefold Club of Matlock prevailed 3-2 at Bolehill Institute No 1.

Martyn Taylor, with a 39 break, and Rob Muxlow won both frames they contested.

PJ’z Ripley No 1 capitalised on that result by winning 4-1 at Matlock Club to stretch their lead at the top to four points. Ben Monk and Andrew Gratton had breaks of 33 and 28 respectively after Keith Manlove had put the hosts ahead.

The other match was a battle of the play-off hopefuls which saw Belper Strutt Club No 1 triumph 3-2 over Bolehill Institute No 2.

Steve Bullock won both his frames for the hosts, whilst Keith Robertson continued his good run for the visitors, winning his ninth frame in ten starts.

League results week eleven: Belper Strutt Club No 1 3, Bolehill Institute No 2 2; Matlock Club 1, PJ’z Club Ripley No 1 4; Bolehill Institute No 1 2, Edgefold Club Matlock 3; Matlock Golf Club 4, PJ’z Club Ripley No 2 1; Jaxx Q Club Belper No 1 5, Belper Strutt Club No 2 0; Bolehill Institute No 3 2, Jaxx Q Club Belper No 2 3. Breaks: M Taylor 39; C Parker 36,20; B Monk 33; A Gratton 28; S Robinson 27; S Bullock 23; K Robertson 22; W Morley 22; J Weller 20; K Manlove 20.