Band is on the road to success with album launch

A52s will launch their new album at Wirksworth Town Hall on November 21.
A52s will launch their new album at Wirksworth Town Hall on November 21.

The eagerly awaited debut album by Derbyshire band the A52s will be released at a special event in Wirksworth Town Hall on Saturday, November 21, at 7.30pm.

The band will be playing original material from the album and support comes from Jake in a Box.

Proceeds from album sales on the night will go to supporting the work of the charity Aquabox, bringing clean water to those who need it around the world.

The album, made up entirely of original material, was recorded and mixed in Parwich by band member Mike Hughes. A single from the album - Roselike - is already available online from all the major digital providers.

With a musical style heavily influenced by both the beautiful Derbyshire Dales and the close friendship between the band, the debut album contains a catchy mix of influenced rock and pop melodies.

The A52s were formed in the mid-noughties as a small group of friends got together to play some of their favourite songs, reworked in their own particular musical style, to family, friends, and neighbours in the Peak District village of Parwich.

Over time, the band has grown in size and stature performing an eclectic mix of music, united by a great sense of fun and comradeship. A song typical of the band’s style is Are Friends Electric by Tubeway Army, the original

synthesised melody gleefully rearranged for accordion, recorder violin and mandolin.

Recognition has come over the years with the band performing at venues of increasing size including the Y-Not and Bearded Theory music festivals.

New found ambition has led to an increased focus on writing original songs, cumulating in the album, Joy Mining Machinery. The title reflects the sense of joy found whenever music brings people together.

Currently performing as a six piece, The A52s are in rude health, writing new songs, performing at community events, parties, festivals… and most importantly enjoying a pint of ale with friends.

The band is made up of Mark Simmons (drums, vocals), Chris Radlett (mandolin, vocals), Lewis Noble (guitar, keyboard, accordion, vocals), Chad Bean (recorder, saxophone, vocals), Ben Blant (violin, bass, vocals) and Mike Hughes (guitar, vocals).